Neuriva Plus is one of the most heavily marketed brain supplements in the United States — but its formula contains just two active nootropic ingredients. In this review, I reverse-engineer each ingredient against the specific clinical doses used in published human trials, revealing whether the capsule actually delivers a research-backed serving and where a broader-spectrum nootropic formula may offer better cognitive value per milligram in 2026.
If you're a UK-based buyer researching Neuriva Plus, you face an added complication: limited domestic availability and potential import costs. This article gives you a clear picture of what's inside, what the science says, and how it stacks up against alternatives you can actually buy in Britain — including Noobru Advantage.
What Is Neuriva Plus and What Does It Contain?
Neuriva Plus is a daily brain health capsule made by Schiff Vitamins (a subsidiary of Reckitt Benckiser). It contains two core nootropic ingredients plus three B-vitamins:
- Neurofactor™ (coffee cherry extract) — a patented whole coffee fruit concentrate standardised for polyphenol content
- Phosphatidylserine (Sharp PS®) — a phospholipid found naturally in brain cell membranes
- Vitamin B6 — 1.7 mg (100% US Daily Value)
- Vitamin B12 — 2.4 mcg (100% US Daily Value)
- Folate — 680 mcg DFE (170% US Daily Value)
The standard Neuriva formula lacks the B-vitamins; the "Plus" designation adds them. Both versions share the same two core nootropic actives at what appear to be identical doses.
Does Neuriva Plus Work? Ingredient-by-Ingredient Evidence Review
The honest answer: each ingredient has some scientific support, but neither has robust, large-scale evidence for the specific cognitive claims Neuriva's marketing makes. Here's what the published literature actually shows.
Coffee Cherry Extract (Neurofactor™)
Neuriva's headline claim centres on brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF) — a protein involved in neuron growth and plasticity. A small 2013 pilot study published in the British Journal of Nutrition found that 100 mg of whole coffee fruit concentrate increased plasma BDNF levels by approximately 143% compared to baseline [1].
Key limitations worth noting:
- The study enrolled only 25 participants — far below the sample sizes used in definitive clinical trials
- It measured blood BDNF, not brain BDNF — and the relationship between peripheral and central BDNF remains debated [2]
- No cognitive performance tests were administered, so we cannot confirm the BDNF increase translated to better memory, focus, or processing speed
- Neuriva does not disclose the exact milligram dose of Neurofactor per capsule, making it impossible to confirm it matches the 100 mg trial dose
My assessment: Promising mechanism, insufficient human evidence for cognitive performance claims. A single pilot study without cognitive endpoints is not enough to say "clinically proven."
Phosphatidylserine (Sharp PS®)
Phosphatidylserine (PS) has a stronger evidence base. A 2015 meta-analysis in the Journal of Clinical Biochemistry and Nutrition reviewed 127 studies and concluded that PS supplementation at 100–300 mg/day may support memory function in older adults experiencing age-related cognitive decline* [3].
Neuriva Plus lists 100 mg of phosphatidylserine. This sits at the very bottom of the dose range used in positive trials — most successful studies used 200–300 mg daily.
My assessment: Good ingredient at a minimal effective dose. Doubling the PS content would better align with the stronger clinical outcomes.
B-Vitamins (B6, B12, Folate)
These are well-established nutrients for nervous system function. A notable 2010 trial from the University of Oxford found that high-dose B-vitamin supplementation (including B6, B12, and folate) slowed brain atrophy by 30% over two years in older adults with mild cognitive impairment [4].
However, the Oxford trial used substantially higher doses than Neuriva Plus provides — 20 mg B6, 500 mcg B12, and 800 mcg folic acid versus Neuriva's 1.7 mg, 2.4 mcg, and 680 mcg DFE respectively. At standard daily-value doses, B-vitamins primarily benefit people who are deficient rather than the general population.
Neuriva Plus Side Effects: What Users Report
Most users tolerate Neuriva Plus well. The two active nootropic ingredients have favourable safety profiles in published research. Reported side effects include:
- Mild headaches — the most commonly cited complaint in online reviews
- Digestive discomfort — occasional nausea or bloating, particularly when taken on an empty stomach
- Restlessness or difficulty sleeping — likely related to coffee cherry extract's trace caffeine content; taking the capsule in the morning typically resolves this
Phosphatidylserine has been studied at doses up to 600 mg/day with no serious adverse effects [3]. That said, if you're taking blood-thinning medication or have a soya allergy (some PS is soya-derived), consult your GP first.
The Dose-Transparency Problem: Why It Matters
Here's where my biggest concern lies. Effective nootropic supplementation depends on matching clinically validated doses — not just listing the right ingredient names on a label.
Neuriva Plus does not disclose the exact milligram amount of Neurofactor per capsule. The company calls it a "clinically tested" ingredient, but without dose transparency, consumers cannot verify whether they're getting the same 100 mg used in the pilot study. This is a significant gap in an industry that already struggles with trust.
For comparison, Noobru Advantage lists every ingredient with its exact milligram dose on the label — a practice that's becoming the baseline expectation among informed supplement buyers in 2026.
Two Ingredients vs Broader-Spectrum Nootropics: A Framework for Choosing
Neuriva Plus takes a minimalist approach — two nootropic actives plus B-vitamins. There's nothing inherently wrong with simplicity, but cognitive function involves multiple interacting neurochemical pathways. A formula targeting only BDNF and membrane phospholipids leaves several evidence-backed mechanisms unaddressed.
When evaluating any brain supplement in 2026, I recommend this five-point framework:
- Ingredient count vs. pathway coverage — More ingredients isn't automatically better, but covering acetylcholine, dopamine, BDNF, and cerebral blood flow pathways provides broader support*
- Dose transparency — Can you verify every active ingredient matches published clinical doses?
- Form factor and bioavailability — Drinkable formats typically offer faster absorption than compressed tablets
- Cost per clinically-dosed serving — Not cost per capsule, but cost per serving at the dose that actually showed results in trials
- Regulatory compliance in your market — US-formulated supplements may contain ingredients not approved for sale in the UK or EU
Using this framework, here's how Neuriva Plus compares with Noobru Advantage:
| Criterion | Neuriva Plus | Noobru Advantage |
|---|---|---|
| Active nootropic ingredients | 2 | 7+ |
| Dose transparency | Partial (PS disclosed; Neurofactor unclear) | Full (all doses on label) |
| Format | Capsule | Drinkable powder |
| UK availability | Import only | Ships domestically from UK |
| Neurochemical pathways targeted | BDNF, membrane structure | BDNF, acetylcholine, dopamine, cerebral blood flow* |
Can You Buy Neuriva Plus in the UK?
Neuriva Plus is not widely stocked by UK retailers. It occasionally appears on Amazon UK through third-party sellers, but prices are marked up (often £35–£45 for a 30-day supply versus roughly $33 USD in the States), and import consistency is unreliable.
For UK buyers, domestically formulated nootropic supplements offer regulatory peace of mind, predictable shipping, and customer support in your time zone. Noobru Advantage ships free within the UK and is formulated to comply with MHRA and UK food supplement regulations.
Key Takeaways
- Neuriva Plus has a narrow formula — two nootropic ingredients plus B-vitamins, compared to broader-spectrum alternatives offering 7+ actives
- The clinical evidence is early-stage — a single 25-person pilot study on coffee cherry extract, and PS at the minimum effective dose (100 mg vs. the 200–300 mg used in stronger trials)
- Dose transparency is incomplete — the Neurofactor dose is not disclosed, making it impossible to confirm clinical equivalence
- UK availability is limited — import-only with markup and inconsistent stock
- The five-point framework above helps you compare any nootropic objectively, not just Neuriva vs. Noobru
Frequently Asked Questions About Neuriva Plus
Does Neuriva Plus actually work?
Neuriva Plus contains two ingredients with some clinical support — coffee cherry extract and phosphatidylserine — but the evidence base is limited. The key coffee cherry study enrolled only 25 people and didn't measure cognitive performance directly. Results vary between individuals, and the undisclosed Neurofactor dose makes verification difficult.
What are the side effects of Neuriva Plus?
Side effects are generally mild: occasional headaches, digestive discomfort, and possible restlessness if taken late in the day. Phosphatidylserine is well-tolerated at doses up to 300 mg in published studies [3]. Consult your GP before starting any new supplement, particularly if you take blood-thinning medication.
Is Neuriva Plus available in the UK?
Not through mainstream UK retailers. It's occasionally available via Amazon third-party sellers at a premium. UK-based alternatives like Noobru Advantage ship domestically and comply with local regulations.
How long does Neuriva Plus take to work?
The manufacturer recommends 30 days for noticeable effects. Clinical trials on phosphatidylserine typically measure outcomes at 6–12 weeks, so patience is warranted. Any supplement promising results within days should raise scepticism.
What is the difference between Neuriva and Neuriva Plus?
The "Plus" version adds vitamins B6, B12, and folate to the same two core nootropic ingredients. The nootropic doses appear identical. If you already get adequate B-vitamins through diet, the standard version offers the same core formula at a lower price.
Looking for a Broader-Spectrum Alternative?
If Neuriva Plus's two-ingredient approach feels too narrow — or if UK availability is a barrier — Noobru Advantage may help support focus, memory, and mental clarity with a transparent, multi-pathway nootropic formula.* It's a drinkable powder designed for faster absorption, with every ingredient and dose listed clearly on the label.
→ Try Noobru Advantage and see the full ingredient list
References
- Reyes-Izquierdo, T. et al. (2013). "Modulatory effect of coffee fruit extract on plasma levels of brain-derived neurotrophic factor in healthy subjects." British Journal of Nutrition, 110(3), 420–425. PubMed
- Klein, A.B. et al. (2011). "Blood BDNF concentrations reflect brain-tissue BDNF levels across species." International Journal of Neuropsychopharmacology, 14(3), 347–353. PubMed
- Glade, M.J. & Smith, K. (2015). "Phosphatidylserine and the human brain." Nutrition, 31(6), 781–786. PubMed
- Smith, A.D. et al. (2010). "Homocysteine-lowering by B vitamins slows the rate of accelerated brain atrophy in mild cognitive impairment." PLoS ONE, 5(9), e12244. PubMed
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration or MHRA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult your healthcare provider before starting any supplement regimen.






Leave a comment
All comments are moderated before being published.
This site is protected by hCaptcha and the hCaptcha Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.